Finland’s total objectors

Finland has prisoners, whom Amnesty International defines as prisoners of conscience. I am one of them.

Although it is a surprise for most, it is simple enough a story. Finland has a conscription army, and if you do not consent to the join the military (or do a 12-month civil service instead), you end up in jail or in home arrest. That is, unless you are a woman, a Jehovah’s witness, born in Åland or have some physical impairment that doesn’t allow you to serve in the military.

It is easy to see the inequality of this programme. Some religious beliefs suffice as a reason to dodge the bullet, while others do not. Your region of origin is also a valid reason to skip the service. And of course your judical sex.

I’m not suggesting that we make everyone join the army to fix the problem of inequality. Quite the opposite. I suggest we get rid of the whole draft.

In all honesty though, my problem with the military goes deeper than the unequal position it places people in. In my opinion the military is a malign tumor in the brain of our nation. It poisons the minds of our men and drains the wallets of our citizens. I honestly think, it should be cut out in the long run.

But even if you are more modest with your opinions, you have to agree that the current way of organizing it is inefficient, expensive and promotes inequality and hierarchical structures in society at large, when the conscripts go the the real world and use the skills and ways learned in the military in their posts in the industries, universities and homes.

So, that’s the short version of it. As I would prefer not to support the current state of affairs I’ll serve my home arrest (or maybe “monitored sentence” would be more accurate) for a total of 173 days. I can go to work and to some selected hobbies. For those, I have a timetable agreed upon with my supervisor a couple of weeks in advance. If I fail to comply or am intoxicated or break any further laws, I will be sent to a proper prison. I have one screening a week and some random checks to check my location and sobriety. Oh, and I also have an RF transmitter in my ankle to make sure I stay home when my timetable says so.

Further reading: